My Life in Paradise

because I only wish I could make this sh*t up…

Whale shit is bigger than coconuts….. and I’m back to paddling!

on January 29, 2012

There are only a few people in my life who have any idea what I’m talking about when I blather on about paddling.  So go here to 2:34 to see what I’m talking about.

Soooo about the only reason I want to get up at god-o-clock in the morning in paradise is to paddle, let’s just be really clear..  (This post is NOT an invitation to call me at christ’o’clock. I won’t like you very much if you do!)

I woke up 10 minutes before the roosters would have rousted me..  That’s 5:45 HST or 7:45PST or 1:45EST or 6:45 NZTime…. Yeah I have a thing with clocks lately – mostly because EVERYONE wants to know what.time.it.is.in.Hawaii….

Anyway – ass crack of dawn – you know before the sun is even up and I’m zooming down the road in my glitter beetle with the tunes turned up. ..  I’m heading 20 minutes south to Keauhou Bay and paddling with the geriatric snow birds.  (Who by the way kick ass harder than most of the mainland practice sessions I’ve been a part of!!)

Weeeehaaaw off I go into the water inappropriately dressed.  Cotton sucks when it’s wet and my paddle and rash guards are not in Hawaii- yet so I suffer through the minor indignities of looking like a total newb.  I’m also 40lbs heavier than the last time I sat in a canoe.  Not the happiest moment of my life.  *cry*

And then the sunrise starts……  After a 40 minute paddle we stop..  I look up and there’s the sun rising in all it’s glory over the volcano.  I wanted to cry – I still want to cry every time I head out on the water.  How lucky am I that I watch the sun rise from the ocean 3 days a week.  I am so incredibly luck (roosters aside) to get to spend time studying in Hawaii.  Even if I miss my friends and family – the glory of the sunrise makes up for a hell of a lot.    Oh and I can’t hear a single rooster when I’m out paddling.

4 responses to “Whale shit is bigger than coconuts….. and I’m back to paddling!

  1. Joyce H. says:

    But what about the whale poo?!

Leave a Reply

